MoW and CoH 2 Reflections (Questions for MoW Players)

10 years ago
ArcasterArcaster Senior LieutenantPosts: 72 ✭✭
Let me preface by saying I'm a veteran CoH player and I love the original as well as CoH 2 greatly. This is not a pound-for-pound comparison thread but a reflection thread.

vCoH was, for me as an RTS player, the most realistic, pound-for-pound best war and strategy experience thanks to great graphics, excellent mechanics, and strategic gameplay. Let's not kid ourselves though; the best feature was the sound (British voice acting, anyone?). CoH 2 has continued this trend for me.

Now Men of War has been around for a long time now, but I recently got into Assault Squad, maybe a couple of months ago. That combined with the German Soldiers Mod has been an incredible, different experience. Incredible range on tanks, already using their version of the TrueSight system (i.e., realistic FoW), and unforgiving mechanics (one-shot tanks, great damage/penetration system, ambushes that wreck infantry). Now Assault Squad 2 is around the corner!

This isn't about one being better than the other. After reading through MoW forums, a lot of those players consider CoH 2 to be "arcade", which is a little discouraging to me. Obviously CoH 2 isn't true-to-life, and I assume this is a lot of the reason for the Blitzkrieg Mod for vCoH (which I also play and love).

My questions for the MoW players are:

1) What is it about CoH 2 that makes you play it along with/instead of MoW?
2) What features in MoW would you like to see in CoH 2? And what features from CoH 2 in MoW?
3) Do you feel CoH 2 is arcade?
4) With the TrueSight system, would you enjoy CoH 2 if all units had full-map range (maybe with reworked penetration/accuracy at longer ranges)?
5) Any other thoughts?